Skip to main content

Jane Loevinger – self development stages

By February 19th, 2024No Comments

If you understand yourself you will be better able to understand others. There are many theories of the self. According to Jane Loevinger there are are seven stages of self development:

1.  Opportunist: self protective (“It’s all about me.”)

2.  Diplomat: craves acceptance (“Can I join your group?”)

3.  Expert: knowledge (“My knowledge is different from yours.”)

4.  Achiever: independence  (“I am in charge of my life.”)

5.  Individualist: questioning the norm (“I like being unconventional.”)

6.  Strategist: awareness of the continuum of the development in others (“It is OK for you to be different from me.”)

7.  Alchemist: authenticity (“Greater awareness brings its own challenges.”)

Alchemists are authentic leaders. They are intuitive, have strong empathy and they have a sense of humour.

Written by marketing consultant, trainer, speaker and author Nigel Temple.
Join the marketing conversation within The Marketing Compass community.

Nigel Temple

Author Nigel Temple

Nigel Temple is a marketing consultant, speaker, trainer and writer. Topics include: AI / ChatGPT, Marketing strategy, Digital marketing, SEO, Copywriting, Mailchimp. Nigel is available to hire for a consultancy meeting, training workshop, speaking event or marketing project. Email: Or call Nigel on: 01628 773128

More posts by Nigel Temple